Players and coaches of B-MEG and Petron Blaze are starting to get confused about the PBA’s lane violation rule.
B-MEG coach Tim Cone was thrown out of the game between the Llamados and the Boosters just before the first half ended due to his receiving a second technical foul. One of the calls he contested was a non-call on a lane violation.
“They’re allowing players to come in before a free throw shot is taken, so we’re taking advantage of it,” said Petron assistant coach Olsen Racela.
“It happened to us during our game against Barangay Ginebra and the PBA said hindi naman daw mahigpit doon so we’re taking advantage of the situation.”
Racela earlier posted on his Twitter account a photo showing a Ginebra player getting inside for an early rebounding position even though the free throw had not been released by the shooter.
And with the Boosters reaping the benefits of the non-call, it was the Llamados’ turn to go in uproar.
Cone refused to comment, but assistant coach Koy Banal and team manager Alvin Patrimonio were among the strangers to this kind of rule.
“They’re allowing players to come in even before free throw shooter has yet to release the shot,” said Banal.
Patrimonio, a four-time PBA MVP, said it’s the first time he saw such rule in his years of playing basketball.
“That’s something new to me,” said Patrimonio. “Ang nangyayari, pumapasok na agad yung player. Besides, nakakailang rin yun sa shooter.”
At one point during a free throw, a Petron player went in to get an advantage for the rebound and a B-MEG player followed before the free throw shot was released. As a result, a double lane violation was called, taking away the point away from the shooter, who made the shot.
Source: Rey Joble, InterAKTV